2016 AIANY Design Awards Call for Entries

AIA New York’s annual Design Awards Program recognizes outstanding architectural design by AIA New York Chapter members, New York City based architects in any location, and work in New York City by architects around the globe. The purpose of the awards program is to honor the architects, clients, and consultants who work together to achieve design excellence.


For Current Years Submission informatition 
Click Here

All events take place at the Center for Architecture unless otherwise noted.

Awards will be granted in four categories


Architecture - The Architecture category recognizes design excellence in completed buildings
Interiors - The Interiors category recognizes design excellence in building interiors and related architectural work, as well as new and improved approaches to building components and architectural products
Urban Design - The Urban Design category seeks the most compelling work and ideas, both built and unbuilt, that confront and resolve environmental and urban challenges at a scale larger than that of an individual building
Projects – The Projects category recognizes conceptual work, including but not limited to research, innovation, land art, pavilions, architectural objects, and installations. Work in this category does not need to be intended for construction. Projects undertaken for academic credit are not eligible. Entries to competitions will be considered

Award levels for all categories

  • Honor Award – Represents the highest level of achievement
  • Merit Award – Represents distinguished achievement
  • Best in Competition – Jurors will select one entry among the Honor Award winners to receive this unique recognition

Judging Criteria
We strongly encourage submissions that reflect a broad and inclusive definition of design excellence. As submissions are subject to varying degrees of opportunity, constraint, and budget, each entry is judged for the success with which it has met its individual requirements. Submissions must exhibit design achievement that demonstrates exemplary skill and creativity in the resolution and integration of formal, functional, and technical requirements, including ecological stewardship and social responsibility. Submissions should also reflect a strong sense of place, history, or purpose as an integral part of its demonstrated design excellence.

Submissions may be exemplary in the following areas (including, but not limited to):

  • Best of Typology, including outstanding achievement in building type (i.e. education, affordable housing, justice, healthcare, community facility, historic preservation, etc.)
  • Technical Advancement, including engineering achievements (i.e
  • . structural, mechanical, transportation, computer, etc.) as well as innovative use of materials and urban systems
  • Innovation and Research, including projects investigating design advocacy, cross-disciplinary research, pilot projects, public service, and theoretical propositions
  • Preservation/Restoration, including the demonstration of exemplary skill, sensitivity, and thoroughness in preservation, restoration, or adaptive reuse and/or sensitive reinforcement of successful historical development patterns
  • Sustainability, including demonstrated achievements in high performance and/or energy reduction goals set forth by the AIA Sustainable Architectural Practice Position Statement and 2030 Challenge (see www.aia.org/sustainability and www.architecture2030.org), exploration of new approaches to ecological planning, collection, storage, and distribution of renewable resources and energies, and improvement to quality of life and the environment 




  • AIA New York Chapter members who are registered architects are eligible regardless of project location or architect’s residence.
  • Registered architects practicing in New York City are eligible regardless of the project’s location
  • Work located in New York City designed by any registered architect is eligible regardless of the architect’s residence or location of primary office. If the design architect is not registered in New York State, the New York State licensed architect of record must be credited
  • Associate and International Associate AIA New York chapter members may submit projects in the Urban Design and Projects categories only. Associate and International Associate AIA New York Chapter members who wish to submit work in the Architecture or Interiors categories must have the work submitted by the architect of record

Architecture and Interiors must have been completed, and Urban Design and Projects must have been initiated after January 1, 2012. Prior winning projects in any category may not be resubmitted.

Registration and Submission
The Design Awards submissions process is completely digital.

To submit to the 2016 Design Awards competition click here to create an account, or login to you already existing account. For each project you submit you must complete the below steps.

  1. Submit Firm Information
  2. Submit Collaborators List
  3. Submit the Publication Release Form
  4. Acknowledge the Eligibility requirements.
  5. Provide details about your project.
  6. Upload 1 PDF containing supporting images. File should be 6MB or less.  
  7. Submit payment

Steps 5,6, & 7 must be anonymous. Please be sure to remove all identifying information from your images and your project details.
If the submitter is not an AIA member to receive the discount, enter the AIA member’s information in the “Submitting Firm’s section” which can be edited after you have started a submission.

Online submissions will close at 6:00 pm on Friday, January 27, 2016. Any submission that includes the name(s) of the entrant or design team on the materials to be judged (5&6), or those that otherwise do not meet the stated requirements, will be disqualified without reconsideration.

Entry Fees
$200 AIA New York Chapter members
$500 other registered architects
$100 Associate and International Associate AIA New York Chapter members

Registration after January 30th will incure a $50 fee

Category Eligibility

  • Architecture – Registered architects only
  • Interiors – Registered architects only
  • Urban Design – Registered architects, Int’l Associates, and Assoc. AIA
  • Projects - Registered architects, Int’l Associates, and Assoc. AIA

The architect or firm of record, associate architects, project team, consultants, client, and general contractor must be credited. Client names will be withheld from publication upon request.
For restoration, renovation, and adaptive reuse of existing buildings, the original architect must be identified.
Submissions done as an employee or consultant must include a release from a principal of the firm acknowledging that the submitting architect had primary design responsibility and that the credits are correct.

The AIA New York Chapter will publicly announce the winners of the Design Awards at the March 6th Jury Symposium. All winners will be recognized for their achievements at the Honors and Awards Luncheon on April 21st. In addition, there will be a Design Awards Exhibition at the Center for Architecture and winning entries will be published in a special summer awards issue of Oculus magazine.

Award recipients shall be notified regarding exhibition materials following the March 6th Jury Symposium. The 2016 Design Awards Exhibition will open on April 21st and will remain on view through early summer.


AIA New York Chapter
536 LaGuardia Place
NY, NY 10012
(212) 683-0023

Gallery Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 8pm
Sat: 11am to 5pm

Office Hours
Mon-Fri: 9am to 5pm